Oreo Rice (CRAP)

I’m sorry, Mom.  My Oreo rice wasn’t good.  I guess I wasn’t the right person to carry out your dream.

I let you down.

IMG_20160419_214043_compressed

Recipe: http://www.buzzfeed.com/melissaharrison/how-to-make-oreo-rice

Oreo rice photo journal

Step 1. Gathering the ingredients.

IMG_20160419_210649_compressed
Oh, yeah – I substituted soy milk for milk.  That might have had something to do with it.

Step 2. Butter in a pan…waiting for some rice grains which it can lovingly coat.

IMG_20160419_210652_compressed

Step 3. Rice + soy milk in the pot.

IMG_20160419_210924_compressed
Forgot to stir the rice in the butter, which made for some nice sticking later.

Step 4. Once boiling again, added the Oreos.

IMG_20160419_211556_compressed
This photo is upside-down but I am too lazy to fix it

Step 5. After letting it cook covered for 15 minutes.  Didn’t add enough soy milk from the start, so I had to supplement with more and leave it to cook for a while longer.

IMG_20160419_214043_compressed
Ever had your house smell like rice and Oreos at the same time?  I have.

Step 6. Eating my disappointment.

IMG_20160419_214541_compressed

I topped mine with dulce de leche.  The white stuff was more soy milk that I poured on top in an attempt to make it creamier.  (It was unsuccessful.)

 

Oreo Rice (CRAP)

Leave a Reply

