Chocolate Coffee Tart with Almond Crust

This is what I ended up making for the birthday that I was auditioning desserts for.  It was on Saturday.

chocolate coffee almond tart
Please excuse bizarro half-and-half lighting effects

The request was for a dark chocolate cake or tart with almonds, and the only recipes I could find were literally just chocolate tarts with slivered almonds on top – so I mixed and matched a filling and a crust.

Reviews
“Very nice”
-Quite polite party guests

Crust Ingredients:
Almonds
Flour
Copious butter
Salt
Sugar

almond crust
Nice and lumpy because I was running late and pressed it into the pan chunk-by-chunk instead of letting it chill and rolling it out.

Follow this recipe.  Do not toast the almonds like I did, or you will end up with two cups of burned almonds that you don’t know what to do with.  The thing is that I can’t justify throwing them away, because it’s really only about 1 in 5 that’s burned to the point of unpleasantness – and you can’t tell by looking at them which are the burned ones.  So it’s kind of like almonds roulette.

Special thanks to Leandro for venturing out to the hipster-infested organic market down the street to buy me some replacement almonds at the last possible second.

(Or he was possibly just sick of the screams of frustration and needed me to shut up.)

For the Filling:
Follow the “filling” portion of this recipe.  I didn’t change anything, except that I didn’t read the “bittersweet” part and used all semisweet chocolate – then went ahead and added the sugar to the cream anyway because I suck.  So I balanced out the excessive sweetness with an extra spoonful of instant coffee, which is how this became “coffee tart.”

ganache not melted yet
Looks like watery barf
ganache with coffee
Freshly stirred barf

My tart pan is a tad rusty, smells of blood, and seems to impart any moist food that rests atop it with the flavor of iron ore.  Luckily the crust was dry enough that my chocolate tart was not affected, but methinks it may be time for this pan to go the way of the dodo.  Bye-bye, black tart pan.

Chocolate Coffee Tart with Almond Crust

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coffee Tart with Almond Crust

  1. Sonia says:

    Hate to say this kiddo, but I think I see a little bit of me and you: not reading labels, making do with what I’ve got instead of following the recipe to the letter… I’m laughing

    Like

Leave a Reply

